2017 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artists Recognized


2017 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artists, John Estacio, Alex Janvier and Alice Major were recognized as the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity hosted the 2017 celebration with a new brunch format on a brilliant fall day in the mountains.

Master of Ceremonies, CBC broadcaster Shelagh Rogers, was a most engaging host for the celebration which began with a Blessing and Welcome by Elder Sykes Powderface and ended with the Eya-Hey Nakoda Drum group. Laura Brandt and Mel Kirby (Calgary Opera) provided a moving excerpt from the John Estacio opera Filumena, and actors Peter Balkwill and Denise Clark brought Alice Major’s poetry to life for the audience. Video vignettes of the 2017 Distinguished Artists by CTV’s Danny Baldassarre were interspersed throughout the show, which culminated with the presentation of medals and awards to the artists by Her Honour, the Honourable Lois E. Mitchell, CM, AOE, LLD, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

Search for News about an Artist

Recent News